Before Photos

by libby

Like most people, I like the “after” part of before and after photos.  I hope we can make a significant chunk of progress on the house over the long weekend – I really want to make our move-in goal of October 1st.

Hopefully, these photos give  you a good idea of the before condition of the house (and trust me, some of these pictures make the house look much better!)

Exterior:

While there is quite a bit of yard work to do, I am already picturing the finished porch.  It faces the canal across the street, so I’m envisioning a porch swing, some rocking chairs, and a nice quiet evening (ha).

Travis is either posing here, or looking worried.  Considering what he’s looking at:

I would guess “worried”.

There is some serious pruning in order here.

The deck needs a lot of work, but there is a lot of potential here.

Behind the garage and the Japanese Cherry Blossom tree in the back yard, there is this whole extra space! This could be a nice garden, dog area, or possibly a kids play area down the road.

Interior:

Living room:

Aside from needing a good refinishing, I LOVE the original woodwork and the old beveled mirror on this door.

This original wood flooring under the nasty carpet is also pretty awesome.

Dining Room:

This is a glimpse of the crazy painted wood floor underneath the laminate.  I am TOO excited to pull this up and see what the full floor looks like!

Kitchen (which looks so much nicer in this picture).

In the words of my little brother Sammy (then 3 or 4), the wallpaper, countertops, and refrigerator are “buh-sgusting”.

looking from the kitchen doorway into the dining room and then the purple living room.

More before pictures to come!  In the meantime, it is time to paint, paint, paint.

