Two months later…

by libby

We have been busy with the house, and neglectful of the blog.  Here are some previews of recent projects (some of which are complete now, like the living room, and others are still in process, like the kitchen).

How to create a gallery wall in the living room:

Step 1.

First of all, cut out pieces of newspaper to the exact size of your framed art.  This will allow you to easily play with your arrangement WITHOUT damaging your walls as much.

 

Step 2.

Measure any wires or hooks, and mark where to place the nails.

Step 3.

Hammer those nails in, and rip away newspaper.

Step 4.

Start hanging up your pictures!

 

More photos of the gallery wall to come.  The next project is to paint all the black picture frames in different shades of metallic golds, coppers, and bronzes – JUST because I’m still obsessed with warm metal tones.  And I think the warm metal tones will pop against that cool notes in the wall color.

 

Travis and I also had an Ikea date in Pittsburgh, and Travis discovered the joy of putting together some cheap furniture.  The living room (again) looked a little scary during this process:

However, we moved along fairly quickly:

Two heads were definitely better than one for this process – we finally got the frame put together, and just needed the cushion covers put on the cushions.  As you can see, Coco was helping to test the frame:

This inspired me to jump on styling the living room:

Now, the beautiful rug I ordered came in and the living room is nearly done! More pics to come…after I buy lamps and complete styling the room.  Down the road, there’s an empty spot for a chair and a piano 🙂

Moving on to the kitchen:

I’m sure you’ve heard me complain about the nasty looking, yellowing peachy countertops and the honey oak cabinetry:

Say goodbye – I have coated the countertops and started painting the cabinets white!

Here’s some pictures in process:

I don’t want a 90’s sponge painted pattern, so I tried to achieve a simple mottled look mixing whites and grays.

Here you can see the first coat of paint on the countertops.  Also notice that we started painting the walls, I am in LOVE with the color: Nebulous White by Sherwin Williams.  It’s a lovely subtle, pale grey.

And some random projects:

Here, I’ve painted some old pressed wood bookshelves that I Craigslisted a few years ago.  I repurposed a can of sample paint that I had tested in the kitchen.  I found a GREAT sale on baskets at Joann’s, and used a coupon on top of it.  So, all in all, a beautiful storage system for art supplies in the guest bedroom for under $125:

And here’s a preview of the man cave in its early stages:

And the dining room has also had some progress, in the form of painting it “Chelsea Gray”:

And I promise Travis didn’t do all the painting, I’m the details and trim girl.  And the one with the camera 🙂

So happy to be making progress and turning this house into a home!